Emotions and The Map of Consciousness
Your Emotional Life

Emotions and The Map of Consciousness

The Map of Consciousness is a model of human consciousness created by Dr. David Hawkins, renowned psychiatrist, physician, spiritual teacher, lecturer, and founding director at the National Institute of Spiritual Research. Among many life accomplishments, including his reputation for helping to “alleviate human suffering”, Dr. Hawkins brought us the Map of Consciousness in his groundbreaking book titled Power vs Force.

The Map of Consciousness is a framework for understanding the different levels of consciousness that people can experience, from the lowest levels of shame and guilt to the highest levels of enlightenment and spiritual awakening.

At the core of this map is the concept of “calibration.” According to Dr. Hawkins, everything in the universe has an energy field that vibrates at a certain frequency. This frequency can be measured and calibrated using muscle testing, which is a technique that allows the body to provide yes or no answers to questions.

Using this technique, Dr. Hawkins developed a scale of consciousness that ranges from 0 to 1000. Each level on the scale corresponds to a specific level of consciousness, with higher levels representing more positive and empowering states of being.

At the lowest level of the scale is shame, which has a calibration of 20. Shame is characterized by feelings of worthlessness, self-hatred, and a lack of self-esteem. Above shame is guilt, with a calibration of 30. Guilt is associated with feelings of remorse and regret for past actions.

As we move up the scale, the levels become more positive and empowering. At the middle of the scale is acceptance, with a calibration of 350. Acceptance is characterized by a sense of peace and understanding about the world and our place in it.

Above acceptance are the higher levels of consciousness, such as love (500), joy (540), and enlightenment (700-1000). These levels are associated with profound spiritual experiences and a deep connection to the universe and all living beings.

Dr. Hawking stated that “all levels below 200 come from force and are destructive of life in both the individual and society at large; in contrast, all levels above 200 are constructive expressions of power. The decisive level of 200 is the critical factor point, the fulcrum that divides the general areas of force (or falsehood) from power (or truth).”

Here is a list of the levels of consciousness of emotions and states of being as described by David Hawkins in his Map of Consciousness, along with their corresponding numbers on the scale:

Shame (20)
Guilt (30)
Apathy (50)
Grief (75)
Fear (100)
Desire (125)
Anger (150)
Pride (175)
Courage (200)
Neutrality (250)
Willingness (310)
Acceptance (350)
Reason (400)
Love (500)
Joy (540)
Peace (600)
Enlightenment (700-1000)

The Map of Consciousness can be a helpful tool for personal growth and self-awareness. By identifying where you are on the scale, you can gain insight into your own thoughts, emotions, and behaviors, and make conscious choices to move towards higher levels of consciousness.

However, it’s important to remember that the Map of Consciousness is not a rigid framework. You will experience different levels of consciousness at different times, and your levels can fluctuate depending on your circumstances and life experiences.

Overall, the Map of Consciousness is a fascinating model for understanding the human experience and the potential for personal growth and transformation. By striving to cultivate higher levels of consciousness in ourselves and others, we can create a more positive and compassionate world.

To learn more about the Map of Consciousness, I highly recommend the books Power vs Force and The Map of Consciousness Explained, both by Dr. David Hawkins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.